NBC Sports Group and MotoGP partner on multi-year media rights agreement

Friday, Feb 28 275

NBC Sports Group and Dorna Sports announced a new, multi-year media rights agreement today in which NBC Sports has acquired the rights to present all MotoGP races across its platforms beginning in 2020. Financial terms were not disclosed.

NBC Sports opens the 2020 MotoGP calendar with coverage of the Qatar Grand Prix from Losail International Circuit on Sunday, March 8, at 12:30 p.m. ET on NBCSN, the first of 20 MotoGP races that will air on NBC and NBCSN in 2020.

Four races will air on NBC in 2020, beginning on Sunday, May 3, at 1:30 p.m. ET with the Spanish Grand Prix from Circuito de Jerez. Additionally, NBC will air the Dutch TT from the TT Circuit Assen on Sunday, June 28, at 4:30 p.m. ET; the Australian Grand Prix on Sunday, October 25, at 3 p.m. ET; and the season finale in the Comunitat Valenciana in Spain on Sunday, November 15, at 1:30 p.m. ET.

Five of the 20 MotoGP races in 2020 will air live on NBCSN, including the Grand Prix of the Americas from Circuit of the Americas in Austin, Texas, on Sunday, April 5 at 2:30 p.m. ET. Many of the races in the latter part of the 2020 MotoGP season will air immediately following live NASCAR coverage on NBCSN.

All race coverage that airs on NBC and NBCSN will stream on NBCSports.com and the NBC Sports app. Live coverage of all 20 races will continue to stream on MotoGP VideoPass, both live and OnDemand, as will each and every session of MotoGP, Moto2 and Moto3. Full WorldSBK VideoPass access will also remain available.

“Our agreement with MotoGP further cements NBC Sports as the Home of Motorsports and enhances our comprehensive racing portfolio,” said Jon Miller, President, Programming, NBC Sports and NBCSN. “We’re excited to bring MotoGP to viewers across the country and showcase the world’s premier motorcycle road racing series.”

"I am delighted to announce this agreement with NBC Sports Group and see MotoGP broadcast on NBC and NBCSN,” says Manel Arroyo, Managing Director of Dorna Sports. “A giant of sports and motorsport broadcasting such as NBC will prove a valuable partner, and in an important market for MotoGP both now and historically. Some of our greatest MotoGP and WorldSBK Champions are American and have contributed such incredible chapters to the history of motorcycle racing, and we are delighted to see more of those chapters now have a new home thanks to this agreement with NBC Sports Group."

MotoGP joins NBC Sports’ comprehensive motorsports portfolio, which features exclusive coverage of the second half of the NASCAR Cup Series and Xfinity Series seasons, as well as the entire INDYCAR season, including the Indianapolis 500; IMSA; the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship; Supercross and American Flat Track.

In addition to its MotoGP coverage, NBC Sports will present six races of the Motul FIM Superbike World Championship (WorldSBK) on NBCSN in 2020, beginning Monday, March 2, at 7 p.m. ET from Australia.

Below is NBC Sports’ full 2020 MotoGP telecast schedule:

Date Race/Track Network Time (ET)
Sun., March 8 Qatar Grand Prix* NBCSN 12:30 p.m.
Sun., March 22 Thailand Grand Prix* NBCSN 3:30 p.m.
Sun., April 5 Grand Prix of the Americas NBCSN 2:30 p.m.
Sun., April 19 Argentina Grand Prix NBCSN 2:30 p.m.
Sun., May 3 Spanish Grand Prix* NBC 1:30 p.m.
Sun., May 17 French Grand Prix NBCSN 7:30 a.m.
Sun., May 31 Italian Grand Prix NBCSN 7:30 a.m.
Sun., June 7 Catalunya Grand Prix NBCSN 7:30 a.m.
Sun., June 21 German Grand Prix* NBCSN 6:30 a.m.
Sun., June 28 Dutch TT* NBC 4:30 p.m.
Sun., July 12 Finnish Grand Prix* NBCSN 1:30 p.m.
Sun., August 9 Czech Grand Prix* NBCSN 8:30 p.m.
Sun., August 16 Austrian Grand Prix* NBCSN 7 p.m.
Sun., August 30 British Grand Prix* NBCSN 6:30 p.m.
Sun., September 13 San Marino Grand Prix* NBCSN 2:30 p.m.
Sun., October 4 Aragon Grand Prix* NBCSN 7 p.m.
Sun, October 18 Japanese Grand Prix* NBCSN 7 p.m.
Sun., October 25 Australian Grand Prix* NBC 3 p.m.
Sun., November 1 Malaysian Grand Prix* NBCSN 7 p.m.
Sun., November 15 Valencia Grand Prix* NBC 1:30 p.m.

*denotes same-day delay

Below is NBC Sports’ 2020 WorldSBK telecast schedule:

Date Race/Location Network Time (ET)
Mon., March 2 Australia* NBCSN 6 p.m.
Sun., March 29 Spain* NBCSN 2:30 p.m.
Mon., April 20 Netherlands* NBCSN 12:30 a.m.
Sun., May 10 Italy* NBCSN 5:30 p.m.
Sun., September 20 Catalunya NBCSN 7 p.m.
Mon., October 12 Argentina* NBCSN 3:30 p.m.

*denotes delayed coverage

NBC Sports PR

Speedway Digest Staff

Follow us on Twitter @SpeedwayDigest