Tuesday, Dec 05

NNS: Harvick Wins Texas Pole

Kevin Harvick earned his 24th career NASCAR Nationwide Series pole this afternoon at the Texas Motor Speedway. Harvick posted a fast time of 29.195 seconds, 184.963 mph, which is his first pole in the series this season out of three starts. This is his first ever pole in the series at the Texas Motor Speedway.

Starting in the second spot this evening on the outside front row will be Matt Kenseth. Kenseth posted a fast time of 29.274 seconds, 184.464 mph, which was just 0.079 seconds slower than the pole winner. Out of five races already through this season, this will be his best starting position since Bristol two races ago. Kenseth is certainly one of the favorites going into tonight’s race.

Qualifying third fastest when the third and final session ended was Regan Smith. Smith posted a fast time of 29.295 seconds, 184.332 mph. Like Kenseth, tonight will also be Smith’s best starting position of this season with his best at Bristol. He goes into tonight’s race looking to capture his second win of 2014. Smith’s lap time in the final round was just 0.100 seconds behind the pole winner.

Many drivers had rear toe/camber issues going through technical inspections prior to qualifying. Drivers that wasn’t able to make a lap was Kyle Busch, Kyle Larson, Ty Dillon and Chris Buescher. A total of 40 drivers showed up for qualifying which will mean no drivers will be going home.

Brett Winningham

Brett has been following the sport of NASCAR since the beginning of the 2006 NASCAR Sprint Cup season. Since Brett was 13, he has had a passion of chasing a job in sports that not many get the opportunity of doing. He has been in the NASCAR media since the middle of the 2010 season. Since then, he has been a part of many racing podcast shows to improve his talents. You can find him on twitter @NASCAR_Brett.


No right click

Please link the article.