Print this page

2022 Sebring Hall of Fame Inductees Announced

Tuesday, Jan 25 987
The Sebring Hall of Fame will induct five new members in 2022, including three two-time winners of the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring – Jacky Ickx, Stefan Johansson and Andy Wallace – legendary journalist and sports car racing enthusiast Walter Cronkite and a famed racer and commentator David Hobbs.
The five legends will bring the total number of Sebring Hall of Fame members to 66 and their induction will take place during pre-race ceremonies for the 70th Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring Presented by Advance Auto Parts on March 19. 
North America’s oldest and most historic sports car endurance race is the second round of the International Motor Sports Association (IMSA) WeatherTech SportsCar Championship. The first 12-hour Class was held in March 1952 and the first race ever conducted at Sebring International Raceway was a six-hour event on Dec. 31, 1950. The 2022 edition of SuperSebring will also include the FIA WEC 1000 Miles of Sebring, the Alan Jay Automotive Network 120 for the IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge Series and two Porsche Carrera Cup North America races. 
“We are honored to have such a stellar list of inductees for 2022,” stated Sebring Hall of Fame President John Shoop. “The four drivers being inducted represent nine wins and over 20 podium finishes in major events at Sebring. Walter Cronkite was an icon of American journalism and because of his involvement with racing at Sebring we are truly honored to have his name added to our prestigious Hall of Fame.”
Jacky Ickx, a six-time winner of the 24 Hours of Le Mans, won Sebring twice in five career starts. In 1969 he won with Jackie Oliver aboard a John Wyer prepared Ford GT40. His second Sebring win came in 1972, co-driving a Ferrari 312PB with Mario Andretti. Ickx also recorded eight Formula One wins, 37 major sports car victories, the 1979 Can-Am championship and victory in the 1983 Paris-Dakar Rally.
Stefan Johansson won Sebring twice and had two heart-breaking second place finishes. His victories came in 1984 driving a Porsche 935 with Hans Heyer and Mauricio DeNarvaez. In 1997, he won co-driving a Ferrari 333SP with Fermin Velez, Yannick Dalmas and Andy Evans. His career includes an overall win at Le Mans in 1997 and 12 podium finishes in Formula One.
Andy Wallace has a record-10 overall podium finishes at Sebring. He won consecutive 12-hour races (1992, 1993) driving for Dan Gurney’s All American Racers Toyota team, both times co-driving with Juan Fangio II. Wallace also finished second five times and won the Fall 1998 IMSA race at Sebring co-driving with James Weaver in a Panoz GTR-1. Wallace earned a victory at Le Mans in 1988 driving for Jaguar and has three wins in the Rolex 24 At Daytona.
David Hobbs had one of the most diverse and successful careers in motorsports, competing in sports cars, Indy cars, NASCAR and Formula One. Although he did not win the 12 Hours of Sebring, he won the 1969 Formula 5000 race at Sebring, and finished second the following year. Hobbs had eight career starts at Sebring, and 21 starts at Le Mans, earning two podium finishes and a class win. Hobbs is also a well-known motorsports commentator.
Walter Cronkite was one of the most famous broadcast journalists in American history, best remembered for anchoring the CBS Evening News for 19 years. Cronkite was the official voice of the 12 Hours of Sebring which was broadcast nationwide on CBS radio during the 1950s. Cronkite also competed in the 1959 12 Hour classic, co-driving a Lancia to a fifth-place class finish. An avid sports car racing enthusiast, he was also an accomplished yachtsman.
The Sebring Hall of Fame was established in 2002, Sebring’s 50th anniversary year, to recognize drivers, officials, teams, journalists and manufacturers who have made significant contributions to Sebring’s motorsports history. Inductions are held every-other year.
Previously Inducted Members of the Sebring Hall of Fame
Bob Akin
Mario Andretti
Derek Bell
Geoff Brabham
Rinaldo Capello
Briggs Cunningham
Derek Daly
Jim Downing
Vic Elford
Juan Manuel Fangio
John Fitch
A.J. Foyt
Peter Gregg
Dan Gurney
Janet Guthrie
Jim Hall
Hurley Haywood
Hans Herrmann
Phil Hill
Al Holbert
Bob Holbert
Tom Kristensen
Denise McCluggage
Bruce McLaren
John Morton
Stirling Moss
Paul Newman
Johnny O'Connell
Roger Penske
Sam Posey
Bobby Rahal
Brian Redman
Lyn St. James
Carroll Shelby
Dick Smothers
Hans Stuck
Wayne Taylor
Bob Tullius
Phil Walters
John Greenwood
Charles Mendez
Don Panoz
Sebring Firemen
Reginald S. Smith
Alec & Mary Ulmann
John Bishop
David Cowart
Charles Earwood
Ford Heacock, Sr.
Tres Stephenson
Alex Job Racing
Dick Barbour Racing
Brumos Racing
Chevrolet Corvette
Joest Racing
Tom McEwen
Rate this item
(0 votes)
Adam Sinclair

Adam has been a race fan since the first time he went through the tunnel under the Daytona International Speedway more than 30 years ago. He has had the privilege of traveling to races all across the state of Florida (as well as one race in Ohio), watching nearly everything with a motor compete for fame and glory, as well as participating in various racing schools to get the feel of what racecar drivers go through every week.  

Adam spent several years covering motorsports for, where he had the opportunity to see the racing world from behind the scenes as well as the grandstands. He invites everyone to follow him on Twitter, Facebook, and Google Plus, and looks forward to sharing his enthusiasm for all things racing with the readers of

Be sure to tune in for his sports talk program, Thursday Night Thunder, where he discusses the latest in motorsports news with drivers, crew members, and fans. The show takes place (almost) every Thursday at 8:00 pm EST on the Speedway Digest Radio Network. 

Contact Adam: Email  



Latest from Adam Sinclair


No right click

Please link the article.