Saturday, Jun 10

Chicago Police Department, Joliet Police Department and Joliet Fire Department Representatives to Serve as Co-Grand Marshals in Honor of First Responders Across the Country

Sunday, Sep 15 1444

In honor of the 12th Anniversary of Sept. 11th, 2001, Chicagoland Speedway is proud to announce cast members of NBC’s hit television series “Chicago Fire”and representatives from the Chicago Police Department, Joliet Police Department and Joliet Fire Department as the collective Grand Marshals for the GEICO 400 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race, Sunday, Sept. 15.

The cast members of “Chicago Fire,” including Jesse Spencer (Lieutenant Matthew Casey), Taylor Kinney (Lieutenant Kelly Severide), Eamonn Walker (Battalion Chief Wallace Boden), David Eigenberg (Firefighter Christopher Herrmann) and Randy Flagler (Capp), will deliver the most famous line in motorsports, “Drivers, start your engines,” prior to the green flag of the GEICO 400.

“It is our pleasure to host over 1,000 first responders and their families at Chicagoland Speedway this Sunday as we kick off the first race in the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup,” said Scott Paddock, Chicagoland Speedway president. "Our GEICO 400 race week falls during a very important time of remembrance for the events that occurred on Sept. 11, 2001, and our Grand Marshals will help us to pay tribute to the heroic efforts performed by America’s first responders on a daily basis".  

The NBC drama, “Chicago Fire,” provides an edge-of-your-seat view into the lives of everyday heroes committed to one of America's most noble professions. For the firefighters, rescue squad and paramedics of Chicago Firehouse 51, no occupation is more stressful or dangerous, yet so rewarding and exhilarating. The season 2 premiere of “Chicago Fire” airs on NBC, Tuesday, September 24th at 10p.m. ET.



No right click

Please link the article.