Thursday, Oct 06

Grala Grabs Daytona Pole, GMS Sweeps Top-Three

Kaz Grala will start from the pole in tonight’s NextEra Energy Resources 250. HE is the youngest driver to win a pole at Daytona in a national series race. GMS Racing sweeps the first three positions with Johnny Sauter and Spencer Gallagher in the second and third position.

Grala had a speed of 180.676 mph, Sauter had a speed of 190.227, and Gallagher had a speed of 179.935 mph. Christopher Bell will start fourth at a speed of 179.598 mph. Timothy Peters rounded out the top-five at a speed of 179.480 mph.

Qualifying was slowed twice when Parker Kligerman was leaking transmission fluid down the backstretch and when Spencer Boyd’s engine blew up. Jennifer Jo Cobb did not lay down a lap.

Drivers who did not qualify for tonight’s NextEra Energy Resources 200 are Chris Fontaine, Norm Benning, Brandon Brown, TJ Bell, Brian Bauzat, Jordan Anderson, Timothy Viens, Jennifer Joe Cobb, Kligerman, and Boyd.

The Next Era Energy Resources 250 will begin at 7:30 p.m. EST on Fox Sports 1 and Motor Racing Network.

Caleb Whisler

I am 19 years old from Atlanta, GA. I have been following motorsports since I was born. Motorsports has been "passed down" in my family. I am named after NASCAR Hall of Famer, William Caleb Yarborough, also known as Cale. Growing up in the southeast, racing was something that was a Sunday tradition after church. What an honor it is to share that passion with others.


No right click

Please link the article.