Byron Returns to Texas Hoping to Revisit Victory Lane

There are only two tracks on the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series (NCWTS) schedule which have two races each season, Martinsville (Va.) Speedway and Texas Motor Speedway in Ft. Worth. The teams tackled the short track of Martinsville last weekend, and this week face the challenge of returning to the high banks of Texas. William Byron has been looking forward to going back to Texas after taking the win there in June in his first start at the 1.5-mile track. He hopes to repeat that performance Friday to advance to the Championship 4 in Miami-Homestead (Fla.) Speedway.
The 18-year-old rookie did not dominate the first Texas race in June, but drove like a veteran in the closing laps to take the checkered flag. Matt Crafton had led 133 of 167 laps and looked like he would easily get the win. Byron lined up alongside Crafton for the final restart of the race. The two battled for the lead for several laps before Byron fell back in line in third place, but he was not about to settle for that position. With 10 laps to go he passed Johnny Sauter for second place and had his sights set on Crafton. Byron slowly reeled him in with every passing lap and with five to go was able to get by him for the lead. Once he was out front, Byron drove away from the field in his Liberty University Tundra to win the race.
Kyle Busch Motorsports goes for three consecutive wins at Texas this weekend after claiming the last two NCWTS events at the 1.5-mile track. Byron won in June and Erik Jones claimed the victory last November after leading 117 laps in the same Tundra Byron will race Friday night. Owner-driver Kyle Busch also won with this truck at Texas in the fall race in 2014.
With only two races remaining in the Round of 6, and one slot already filled by last weekend's winner Johnny Sauter, the competition will be fierce at Texas trying to lock in one of the three remaining spots. If Byron can sweep this year's Texas races, he'll be on his way to the championship round, and perhaps another NASCAR series championship to go with last year's K&N Pro Series East title.

Speedway Digest Staff

Follow us on Twitter @SpeedwayDigest