Sunday, Sep 19

Toyota Takes Eighth Truck Series Manufacturer's Title

Toyota clinched its eighth NASCAR Camping World Truck Series (NCWTS) manufacturer’s championship when Timothy Peters crossed the finish line first in Friday night’s race at Phoenix International Raceway.

This is the eighth NCWTS manufacturer’s title in 12 years for Toyota and third consecutive by Tundra drivers after also securing five-straight from 2006 to 2010 and again in 2013 to 2015. Overall, Toyota drivers have earned 11 NASCAR manufacturer’s trophies since the start of the 2004 season. Toyota previously claimed three consecutive NASCAR XFINITY Series (NXS) manufacturer’s crowns from 2008 to 2010.

Three teams fielding Tundras – Kyle Busch Motorsports (KBM), Red Horse Racing and ThorSport Racing – all contributed to the NCWTS manufacturer’s title this season. After 22 of 23 races, Tundra drivers have combined for 13 wins, 11 pole positions, 56 top-five results, 114 top-10 finishes and led 2,239 laps in NCWTS competition this season. 

“Toyota is proud to collect our eighth manufacturer’s championship in the Truck Series following yet another successful season by our Tundra drivers,” said Ed Laukes, vice president of marketing, performance and guest experience for Toyota Motor Sales (TMS), U.S.A. “Toyota’s commitment and dedication to the sport of NASCAR is apparent by the consistency of our team partners and our unwavering support of all NASCAR series. Our partnership with championship-caliber race teams, and a solid combination of veteran drivers and young talent, has resulted in earning the title in eight of the last 12 seasons participating in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series.”

Since joining NCWTS competition in 2004, Toyota has won 143 races and captured 111 poles in 289 races. Kyle Busch (38) has the most victories driving a Tundra.

Toyota Racing PR


No right click

Please link the article.