Friday, Sep 24

HAMPTON, Ga.— With a new rules package and a new season upon the  Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series (MENCS), inspection becomes an issue for the first couple of races as teams try to find the red tape.

Qualifying was not going to be delayed due to the inspection issues because every team had made one attempt at inspection well before 5 p.m. EST.

NASCAR said that teams were pushing the limits on the templates. Before teams hit the track for practice, they will go through a safety inspection before hitting the track. Teams had the option earlier today to go through the templates. Many teams did take advantage of that option.

According to Elton Sawyer, Vice President of Officiating and Technical Inspections, stated, “The teams asked for this and they’ve asked us to stay consistent and that’s exactly what we’ve done.”

According to the NASCAR Rule Book, drivers must start the race on the same tires they qualified on.  The drivers who did not make a lap will start the race on sticker tires compared to those who made laps in qualifying.

Michael McDowell, Cole Whitt, Jeffery Earnhardt, Derrike Cope, and Cody Ware did not make a lap in qualifying due to the inspection issues.

John Hunter Nemecheck clinches the pole for tonight’s Speediatrics 200 at Iowa Speedway with a speed of 136.087 mph, followed by Cameron Hayley, Ben Kennedy, Kaz Grala, and William Byron


After a full day of sitting out in the sun, the NASCAR Camping World Truck series hit the track at Iowa Speedway for qualifying.


In the first round of qualifying, William Byron, last week’s race winner at Texas Motor Speedway, was the fastest with a speed of 137.399 mph, followed by, Tyler Roddick (136.151 mph), Matt Crafton (135.940), Cole Custer (135.747 mph), and Christopher Bell (135.601 mph). All drivers took time during the first round. However, Donnie Levister was unable to make the field of 32 for tonight’s Speediatrics 200. A notable driver that missed the second round of qualifying was German Quiroga, who qualified 25.


In the second round of qualifying, Ben Kennedy went to the top of the leaderboard with a speed of 136.665 mph, followed by, Ben Rhodes (136.383 mph), Cameron Hayley (136.099 mph). William Byron (135.975 mph). and Nick Drake (135.823 mph). Notable drivers missing the final round of qualifying are Christopher Bell (P13). Rico Abreu (P14), and Tyler Reddick (p15).


The tentative TV plan for the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series is to take the green flag shortly after 8:30 pm Easter on Fox Business Network before moving to Fox Sports 1 at 9 pm Eastern, but will vary based on coverage of the US Open. 


No right click

Please link the article.