Thursday, Aug 11

Fans to decide the Sprint Unlimited starting line up

Saturday, Feb 16 1832

Race fans will have the final voice in selecting the starting lineup for The Sprint Unlimited At Daytona on Saturday night, Feb. 16 under the lights at Daytona International Speedway.

Race fans will have three options to determine the order that the drivers will line up for the fan favorite, star-studded race.

1)    Number of career wins (most to least)

2)    2012 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series final driver point standings

3)    The order of when drivers earned their pole position in 2012 (Daytona 500 first place – Homestead-Miami Speedway Ford 400 last place)

To participate, fans can cast their vote through a digital app at one of four Daytona Rewards Stations on Daytona International Speedway property or through texting.

The Daytona Rewards Stations will be located in the Midway, Sprint FANZONE, DIS Ticket & Tours Building and at the Gate 8 Pedestrian Bridge. Texting information on how to vote will be promoted throughout the day to race fans on property at the “World Center of Racing.” Voting for the starting lineup will take place on Saturday only from 9:30 a.m. –  4 p.m.

In addition to voting on the starting lineup, fans in attendance will be eligible to receive special upgraded race experiences including roles as Grand Marshal, Honorary Starter, and trophy presenter. Fans can also help deliver the trophy to Gatorade Victory Lane or participate in driver introductions during pre-race ceremonies.

Prior to The Sprint Unlimited, race fans will be able to shape the race by voting on race elements such as length of each race segment, type of team pit stop after first segment, how many cars will be eliminated after the second segment and the type of fire suit Miss Sprint Cup will wear.  Fans can vote at or on the NASCAR Mobile ’13 app; voting on the format of the race will end at 11:59 p.m. Feb. 13 while voting for the other categories close during different stages of the race.

The format for selecting The Sprint Unlimited field of drivers is returning to its roots. The eligible field of drivers will consist of pole winners from the 2012 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series season and past winners of The Sprint Unlimited who have attempted to qualify for at least one race during the 2012 season.


Press Release

Follow us on Twitter @SpeedwayDigest


No right click

Please link the article.