Monday, Feb 06

MENCS: Clint Bowyer wins pole for South Point Casino 400

Saturday, Sep 14 1469

Clint Bowyer will start from the Pole in tomorrow’s South Point Casino 400 at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

For Bowyer, this marks jus his third career Cup Series pole with a top speed of 178.926 mph. Bowyer’s other poles came at Darlington and New Hampshire in 2007.

Bowyer, who is a playoff driver, led his Stewart-Haas Racing drivers in qualifying. Daniel Suarez will start second, followed by Kevin Harvick in third and Aric Almirola in fourth.

Kurt Busch rounded out the top five.

“I just asked the guys, There’s something wrong here. What’s going on here?” Clint Bowyer told NBCSN post-qualifying. “The throttle stuck, that’s what it was. We were here at the test earlier in the spring before the season got started. Kind of have an opportunity to figure out how to try to make the track a little bit smaller. It’s all about getting up through the gears, getting momentum built up, making the track as big as possible coming to the green.”

Out of the sixteen playoff drivers, only five will start in the top 12.

Below is where the rest of the playoff drivers will start.

Chase Elliott - P8

Denny Hamlin - P11

William Byron - P14

Kyle Larson - P15

Ryan Newman - P17

Brad Keselowski - P18

Alex Bowman - P19

Kyle Busch - P20

Joey Logano - P22

Ryan Blaney - P23

Martin Truex Jr. - P24

Erik Jones - P26

Coverage of the South Point Casino 400 from Las Vegas Motor Speedway begins tomorrow at 7:00 p.m. Eastern on NBCSN.


No right click

Please link the article.