Saturday, Dec 02

FOX Sports Honors Darrell Waltrip with 'The Byrnsie Award'

FOX Sports presented retiring FOX NASCAR broadcaster and Hall of Fame driver Darrell Waltrip with the fifth-annual “The Byrnsie Award” during Sunday’s NASCAR RACEDAY prerace telecast from Sonoma Raceway on FS1.

In honor of late FOX NASCAR broadcaster Steve Byrnes, affectionately known as ‘Byrnsie,’ the award celebrates an individual in NASCAR who demonstrates principles Byrnes embodied in his personal and professional life -- preparation, teamwork and family within the garage area.

Waltrip, finishing his 19th and final year in the broadcast booth this weekend in Sonoma, was FOX Sports’ first on-air hire for its NASCAR coverage that began with the 2001 Daytona 500. He was chosen for the honor by his FOX Sports colleagues.

“Darrell Waltrip not only was a three-time champion, but his TV analyst work transcended the sport, elevating it to a level of notoriety and fan affinity never seen before,” said FOX NASCAR race producer Barry Landis. “We can’t think of anyone who has done more for NASCAR and its viewers than DW. He is the epitome of Steve Byrnes’ trademark dedication to going above and beyond to bring the sport’s personalities to life. An incredible ambassador, Darrell helped grow NASCAR to new levels in his driving and TV careers. We were honored to work with him for 19 years and are so incredibly humbled by the opportunity to thank him with ‘The Byrnsie Award.’”

Byrnes was a member of the FOX team since the first race broadcast in February 2001.  Byrnes passed away in April 2015 following a courageous battle with cancer. Byrnes’ son, Bryson Byrnes, introduced Sunday’s award on-camera from the NASCAR RACE HUB studios in Charlotte, N.C.

Crew chief Rodney Childers won the inaugural award in 2015, spotter Chris Osborne in 2016, crew chief Tony Gibson in 2017 and seven-time champion Jimmie Johnson in 2018.

FOX Sports PR


No right click

Please link the article.