Sunday, Apr 02

MENCS: Kyle Busch captures 200th NASCAR National Series win in Fontanta

Kyle Busch won Sunday's Auto Club 400 at Auto Club Speedway, earning his 200th NASCAR National Series win.

Busch earned his 53rd NASCAR Monster Energy Series victory and his fourth at Auto Club Speedway along with his 94 wins in the NASCAR Xfinity Series and 53 wins in the NASCAR Gander Outdoor Truck Series. Driver No. 18 became the second driver in the history of NASCAR to reach the 200 win mark, joining Richard Petty, who earned all 200 of his NASCAR wins in the Cup series.

Driver No. 18 led 134 laps of the 200 lap race, finishing with a two second margin over second place Joey Logano. Sunday was also Busch's second NASCAR Monster Energy Cup Series win this season after winning last Sunday at ISM Raceway and is the first driver to clinch multiple wins thus far in 2019.

"It feels just like No. 1, just like yesterday," Busch told Fox Sports. "It was such an awesome race car. I mean dang. I'm glad we put on a heck of a show for all of these fans here at Auto Club Speedway."

Rounding out the top five were Joey Logano in second, Brad Keselowski in third, Kevin Harvick in third and Ryan Blaney in fifth.

Busch also won both stages on Sunday at Auto Club Speedway for the third time in his career. He did so previously at the 2018 Coca-Cola 600 and 2017 Brickyard 400. Driver No. 18 would restart 18th after the second stage due to a speeding penalty on pit road. Busch would rebound back to the lead in route to his milestone victory.

"Sometimes, you have to have a little bit of luck on your side," Busch told Fox Sports. "It certainly is a monumental moment for all of us. Maybe the stars aligned a little bit for us today."

Rounding out the top ten were Kurt Busch in sixth, Denny Hamlin in seventh, Martin Truex Jr. in eighth, Aric Almirola in ninth and Austin Dillion in tenth.

The NASCAR Monster Energy Cup Series will head to Martinsville Speedway next Sunday, March 24th at 2:00 p.m. Eastern on FS1 and MRN/SiriusXM NASCAR Stage 1 Winner: Kyle Busch Stage 2 Winner: Kyle Busch Race Winner: Kyle Busch


No right click

Please link the article.