MENCS: Chase Elliott wins the Gander Outdoors 400 at Dover

Chase Elliott won today's Gander Outdoors 400 at Dover International Speedway.

Elliott stayed out in front in the race's final set of pit stops to capture his second career Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series victory.

Driver No. 9 grabbed the command of the lead after the race leaders came to pit road when Clint Bowyer wrecked. The race would go back to green with six laps to go but another caution would come out when Aric Almirola lost control of his No. 10 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford and crashed into Brad Keselowski.

Almirola was leading when Bowyer had mechanical issues and crashed. Bowyer, who is Almirola's teammate at Stewart-Haas Racing. Almirola would hit the wall after hit pitted for mechanical issues.

The wreck between Almirola and Keselowski would set up a restart with two laps remaining. When the race resumed with two laps to go, Elliott would drive away from second place Denny Hamlin to get the win.

"I just feel like I've messed it up so many times," Elliott said. "I was like hey, here's your opportunity to make it right and do it right. I don't know. Today just felt different. Like in those positions, I just felt more confident and just excited about the opportunity instead of unsure of what was going to happen."

Rounding out the top five were Denny Hamlin in second, Joey Logano in third, Erik Jones in fourth, and Kurt Busch in fifth.

Rounding out the top ten were Kevin Harvick in sixth, Austin Dillion in seventh, Kyle Busch in eighth, Ricky Stenhouse Jr. in ninth and Daniel Suarez in tenth.

The Monster Energy Cup Series will head into Talladega next Sunday in the running of the 1000 Bulbs 500. Coverage begins at 2:00 p.m. Eastern on NBC.

Stage 1 Winner: Kevin Harvick

Stage 2 Winner: Kevin Harvick

Race Winner: Chase Elliott


Playoff Standings:

1. Chase Elliott (Dover Win)

2. Kevin Harvick, 3,101 points

3. Kyle Busch, 3, 096 points

4. Martin Truex Jr., 3,069 points

5. Joey Logano, 3, 064 points

6. Brad Keselowski, 3, 054 points

7. Kurt Busch, 3,054 points

8. Ryan Blaney, 3,043 points

9. Clint Bowyer, 3,033 points

10. Aric Almirola 3,033 points

11. Kyle Larson, 3,031 points

12. Alex Bowman, 3,009 points