Saturday, Sep 25

Most Popular Driver Voting opens on Sunday

Reid Spencer - NASCAR Wire Service Saturday, Sep 05 1892
Voting for the 2015 NMPA Sprint Most Popular Driver award will open Sunday, Sept. 6, the National Motorsports Press Association and Sprint announced on Saturday.

The NMPA Sprint Most Popular Driver award is the only major NASCAR award determined solely by fan vote.

The polling period will open at 12:01 a.m. ET Sunday and run through 11:59 p.m. ET on Sunday, Nov. 22. Fans can visit to cast their vote for this year’s award. Votes can also be cast via the NASCAR Mobile application.

Since the award’s inception in 1953, 19 drivers have been honored. NASCAR Hall of Famer Bill Elliott has won the award more than any other driver (16 times). Dale Earnhardt Jr. has been voted most popular driver for the last 12 years.

Voting is limited to one vote per person per email address per day. Fans are encouraged to share their votes on Facebook and Twitter. The official Twitter hashtag for the NMPA Sprint Most Popular Driver Award is #SprintMPD.

Eligible drivers for the award are those who have declared to compete for the 2015 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series championship.

“The Most Popular Driver Award is one of the NMPA’s most significant awards, and I’m very pleased to partner with Sprint again this year,” said NMPA President Brian Nelson. “We expect the 2015 vote to be one of the biggest yet.”

No right click

Please link the article.