Sunday, Oct 02

NSCS: Joe Gibbs Racing Masters Duels in Daytona

Tonight NASCAR ran two 150 mile races this evening to set the starting line up for Sunday's 56th annual Daytona 500. The first duel was ran clean and green with most of the action coming in the second race.

Matt Kenseth drove to the victory this evening with a spectacular three wide finish at the line. Kenseth led the most laps of any driver and certainly had one of the best cars of the evening. He won the race by 0.022 seconds ahead of Kevin Harvick.

Later on during post-race technical inspection, NASCAR deemed the No. 4 of Kevin Harvick illegal from a split in the track bar that exceeded the maximum allowance. NASCAR Sprint Cup Series teams are allowed no more than a three inch split and the No. 4 exceeded that limit. No penalties will be given.

The second duel was clean and green until the exit of turn four coming to the checkers. Jimmie Johnson ran out of fuel, which caught Jamie McMurray off guard and started a wreck involving numerous cars. It sent Clint Bowyer into the air but was able to drive his car to pit road. Denny Hamlin was able to score his second Speedweeks victory this weekend.

Drivers who will miss the field for the 56th annual Daytona 500 are: Eric McClure, Ryan Truex, Joe Nemechek, Morgan Shepherd and Michael McDowell.

See below for full starting line up:

1 Austin Dillon Chevrolet 3 196.019 mph
2 Martin Truex Jr. Chevrolet 195.852 mph
3 Matt Kenseth Toyota 194.574 mph
4 Denny Hamlin Toyota 194.477 mph
5 Kasey Kahne Chevrolet 194.544 mph
6 Jeff Gordon Chevrolet 195.042 mph
7 Marcos Ambrose Ford 194.894 mph
8 Kurt Busch Chevrolet 41 194.078 mph
9 Dale Earnhardt Jr. Chevrolet 195.211 mph
10 Paul Menard Chevrolet 194.919 mph
11 Josh Wise Ford 192.061 mph
12 Brian Scott Chevrolet 194.776 mph
13 Aric Almirola Ford 194.658 mph
14 Trevor Bayne Ford 194.334 mph
15 AJ Allmendinger Chevrolet 194.108 mph
16 Kyle Larson Chevrolet 194.410 mph
17 David Gilliland Ford 193.736 mph
18 Landon Cassill Chevrolet 40 193.732 mph
19 Ryan Newman Chevrolet 195.707 mph
20 Clint Bowyer Toyota 194.523 mph
21 Tony Stewart Chevrolet 193.365 mph
22 Jamie McMurray Chevrolet 192.695 mph
23 Cole Whitt Toyota 192.538 mph
24 Terry Labonte Ford 192.135 mph
25 Greg Biffle Ford 195.818 mph
26 Bobby Labonte Chevrolet 191.493 mph
27 Danica Patrick Chevrolet 194.380 mph
28 Casey Mears Chevrolet 194.582 mph
29 Alex Bowman Toyota 23 189.685 mph
30 Carl Edwards Ford 195.712 mph
31 Brian Vickers Toyota 192.798 mph
32 Jimmie Johnson Chevrolet 194.637 mph
33 Brad Keselowski Ford 195.296 mph
34 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Ford 195.004 mph
35 Joey Logano Ford 194.582 mph
36 Michael Annett Chevrolet 194.574 mph
37 Kyle Busch Toyota 194.502 mph
38 Kevin Harvick Chevrolet 4 194.422 mph
39 Reed Sorenson Chevrolet 194.066 mph
40 Justin Allgaier Chevrolet 193.815 mph
41 Parker Kligerman Toyota 193.594 mph
42 Michael Waltrip Toyota 66 193.428 mph
43 David Ragan Ford 192.328 mph


Brett Winningham

Brett has been following the sport of NASCAR since the beginning of the 2006 NASCAR Sprint Cup season. Since Brett was 13, he has had a passion of chasing a job in sports that not many get the opportunity of doing. He has been in the NASCAR media since the middle of the 2010 season. Since then, he has been a part of many racing podcast shows to improve his talents. You can find him on twitter @NASCAR_Brett.


No right click

Please link the article.