Three Team Chevy Drivers Post Top-10 Starting Positions at Dover

Written by 
Published in Sprint Cup Series News
Saturday, 29 September 2012 15:45
Rate this item
(0 votes)

Jeff Gordon, No. 24 Drive to End Hunger Chevrolet, posted the seventh fastest lap for Sunday’s 43rd annual AAA 400.  Gordon will be gunning for his fifth win at the “Monster Mile”.  

Ryan Newman, No. 39 U.S. Army Chevrolet, will roll off eighth for tomorrow’s race.  Newman is one of many Chevrolet drivers with multiple wins at Dover International Speedway.  He has three trips to Victory Lane in his NASCAR Sprint Cup Series career. Gordon’s Hendrick Motorsports teammate, Kasey Kahne posted the ninth fastest lap in the No. 5 Farmers Insurance Chevrolet.

Five-time NSCS champion Jimmie Johnson will start the No. 48 Lowe's Chevrolet from the 11th spot on the grid while reigning NSCS champion Tony Stewart, No. 14 Office Depot/Mobil 1 Chevrolet, will start 24th. Denny Hamlin (Toyota) won the pole, Clint Bowyer (Toyota), Martin Truex Jr. (Toyota), Sam Hornish Jr. (Dodge) and Kyle Busch (Toyota) made up the top-five qualifiers for tomorrow’s race.

A total of 18 Chevrolet drivers will take the green flag on Sunday, September 30, 2012 at 2:00 PM EST on ESPN.  The AAA 400 will be the 29th race of the 2012 season and third in the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup.

Team Chevy Racing PR

Read 583 times
Press Release

Follow us on Twitter @SpeedwayDigest