Dave Blaney to Drive #77 Ford for Randy Humphry Motorsports in 2014


Dave Blaney to Drive #77 Ford for Randy Humphry Motorsports in 2014

Written by 
Published in Sprint Cup Series News
Thursday, 09 January 2014 08:25
Rate this item
(0 votes)
Dave Blaney to Drive #77 Ford for Randy Humphry Motorsports in 2014 Getty Images

According to Foxsports.com writer Lee Spencer veteran racer Dave Blaney will drive a #77 Ford for the long time car owner Humphry. The team will use chassis from Germain Racing's fleat from the 2013 season and will have veteran crew chief Peter Sopenzo as their top wrench man.

"We dealt with each other at Front Row (Motorsports)," Blaney told FOX Sports. "I always liked him, but we never raced together before. Obviously, it helps that we'll have Doug Yates engines and picked up some really nice cars that Casey Mears drove before Germain switched to Chevys. So we're off to a good start."

Blaney has made 466 starts in his NASCAR Sprint Cup Series career and has four top five finishes and 28 top ten finishes in his career. He made his first start in 1992 and had to wait until 1999 to get his second start. His rookie season was in 2000 when he drove the #93 Pontiac for Bill Davis Racing. In the 2002 and 2003 seasons Blaney moved to Jasper Racing with a #77 Ford and finished 19th in the NASCAR Winston Cup Series point standings in the 2002 season, the best of his career. Blaney also has an impressive resume on dirt and won the 1995 World of Outlaw Sprint Car Series championship. Over his Sprint Cup Series career Blaney has driven for Bill Davis Racing, Jasper Racing, Roush Fenway Racing, Richard Childress Racing, HP Motorsports, Front Row Motorsports and most recently Tommy Baldwin Racing.

Crew chief Peter Sospenzo will work with Blaney and the team. Sospenzo has 406 career races under his belt as a Sprint Cup Series crew chief. His career started in 1994 when he began working for Harry Melling's #9 team. The most success Sospenzo had was when he worked at Penske Kranefuss Racing with driver Jeremy Mayfield as he helped Mayfield win two races in the 2000 season. He moved to Hendrick Motorsports with driver Joe Nemechek in 2003 and won a race there as well. All together he has three Sprint Cup Series victories. He most recently worked for Humphry's team in 2013 with drivers Mike Bliss, Alex Kennedy and Jason Leffler.


Check out other great articles at Sports Media 101.

Read 264 times
Steven B. Wilson

Follow us on Twitter @SpeedwayDigest